Tolex glue?

This is what it sounds like, when cones cry.

Moderators: VelvetGeorge, BUG

Tolex glue?

Postby Mars Hall » Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:07 pm

I'm repairing a amp cabinet, the bottom piece of tolex has long been gone. I'm gonna recover the area, what would be a good glue choice? Since this a patch job, what are some tips for the edges, so it does't peel off? I'm not as worried about cosmetics, I want to protect the wood, but I do want it to look clean and straight.

I'm open to any advise, I have no experience with recovering with tolex. :)
"You just slide a bottle up and down til what you want out of it comes out. You just slide away at it til you've got it down." Duane Allman
Mars Hall

Re: Tolex glue?

Postby demonufo » Sat Nov 21, 2009 7:58 am

I always use toluene glue with tolex. Coat both surfaces to be joined, wait 5 minutes, then bond them together.
It is quite messy stuff though if you're not careful. Toluene thinners will remove the mess you may make, but not too much or you'll mark the tolex permanently.
So I like purple, okay!!!!!!

83.7% of all statistics are made up on the spot!
demonufo

Postby Scumback Speakers » Sat Nov 21, 2009 1:40 pm

This is what I use, and then I use Gorilla Snot Super Glue for my seams (corner cuts, etc) since it's not as runny as regular super glue and holds just as well. I buy the tolex glue in gallons since I do so many cabs, but a quart is good for 2-3 cabs typically.

www.tubesandmore.com

TOLEX GLUE, 1 QUART $19.95 plus shipping

S-F316

Brush-on adhesive ideal for applying tolex. Cleans up with soap and water. No nasty solvents required. Does not stretch or shrink the vinyl. Quart.

Please click on image for application directions.
TOLEX GLUE Adhesive For Bonding Tolex

Specifications: Tolex Glue is a non-flammable, Neoprene based, water borne adhesive formulated to bond tolex and vinyl to wood and wood based substrates.

Min. use temp: 45°F Shelf Life: 6 Months